Fruit on my waffles

I was that kid who got disappointed when my parents suggested that we have fruit for dessert.  Fortunately for me, I don’t remember that happening very often.  Our desserts were usually pies, cakes, ice cream, cookies…..  You know – the good stuff.

Similarly, to this day fruit stands no chance of making its way into the limelight of my weekend breakfasts.  I’d rather have the classic combination of butter and syrup on my waffles, pancakes, or french toast than the natural sweetness of fresh berries and a dollop of greek yogurt as all the health-conscious breakfast eaters have been raving about these days.  In fact, when my sweet tooth takes charge (which is almost always), I’ll sprinkle a heavy dusting of powdered sugar into the pools of maple syrup on my plate, and when the white powder dissolves into oblivion, I add more, and repeat as necessary throughout my entire dining experience.

When I’m on a “health kick” (or am making an effort to get some protein into my diet) I use my pancakes (or waffles, or bagel, or toast) as a means to slather on a thick layer of peanut butter.  I usually accompany the peanut butter with a few slices of banana, but the only way I can get everything to slide down easily is to douse it in syrup – or honey if it’s on something like toast.

So, needless to say, I surprised myself this afternoon when I saw a pint of strawberries in the fridge and suggested to Kyle that we have waffles for lunch…WITH strawberries on them.  I really can’t remember a time that I actually craved fruit on my waffles.  To be fair, I didn’t exactly have the “health conscious” version of berries and  greek yogurt in mind.  For one, we only had whipping cream in the fridge – not greek yogurt – to which I planned on adding a touch of sugar and almond extract, and two, I was also planning on adding a little sugar to the sliced strawberries to bring out their juices.

Here’s what I came up with:

I’m trying not to toot my own horn too much, but this was the tastiest version of waffles with strawberries and whipped cream that I’ve ever had.  I kept telling Kyle that someone should hire me at their breakfast joint so I can teach them a thing or two about adding berries and whipped cream to their breakfasts.

I’m trying to decide what made it taste so good and the best I can come up with is 1) I always think food tastes better when I have to work a little bit to get it, and 2) it felt like a really good use of ingredients we just had hanging around in our fridge and pantry.  I think there’s a lot of satisfaction in the idea of each individual ingredient (the flour, eggs, milk, strawberries, whipping cream, etc.) becoming part of a greater meal – even if it turns out to be a decadent combination of waffles with strawberries and whipped cream that resembles more of a dessert than a lunch.

Leave a Reply

