Starstruck

If it hasn’t been blatantly obvious to you before, I’ll make it clear now: I’m a foodie.  It’s taken me a long time to actually accept myself by this term, “foodie”.  I always had a negative connotation in my mind when I hear others talking about being a foodie.  To be blunt, I pictured an uppity, opinionated jerk.

In doing some further research, I discovered that my (incorrect) assumption about foodies was pretty common.  I like the definition and distinction provided by wikipedia: “…foodies are amateurs who simply love food for consumption, study, preparation, and news.  Gourmets simply want to eat the best food, whereas foodies want to learn everything about food, both the best and the ordinary…”.

That’s me.  In my free time, I sit around looking at recipes and planning meals.  I feel refreshed and renewed when I get to prepare food, and I absolutely love eating food!

When it comes to learning about food, I’ve read a couple of books and follow a couple of blogs, one of which is Orangette.  The writer of the blog, Molly, also wrote a book , which I think I’ve mentioned before.  I love her recipes and the stories behind them, so as I started planning my contributions to our upcoming weekend on Guemes with our friends Aaron & Elizabeth, I started by looking in the book for some dessert ideas.  I happened upon her recipe for Rum Cream Pie with Graham Cracker Crust and when I mentioned this as an option to Elizabeth, she made it obvious that it was her top choice.

As I started thinking about more of the details of preparing this pie, I realized I had a question, so I went out on a limb and decided to e-mail Molly.  I really wasn’t sure whether to expect a response at all, let alone before we actually leave for the cabin.  And yet, not even an hour after I e-mailed her, I got a reply.

Kyle was sitting next to me when I saw that Molly had already replied.  He says I was giddy, and starstruck.  And, he’s totally right.  Molly is the type of person that even though I’ve never met her in person (although, I have been in the same room as her when I went to hear her do a reading from her book), I feel like we could be best friends.  Katy and I both agree that Molly could quite possibly be a kindred spirit  of ours, so, imagine my delight when Molly returned my e-mail within the hour!  And she even signed off by saying, “Have a great weekend at the cabin!”

We’re totally on a first name basis now.  And – she has my e-mail address.

I’m totally starstruck…. Molly e-mailed me.

3 thoughts on “Starstruck

    • Becca, I have head the Pioneer Woman, but never really got into it. I’ll have to check it out again and see what I think. I just added Smitten Kitchen to my feed on iGoogle, though. Thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

  1. 🙂 AWESOME.
    Did you happen to mention that you dedicated you summer vacation to cooking from her book?? … maybe next time. 🙂
    I’m just a wee bit jealous that you get to be better kindred spirit friends with Molly than I do.

Leave a Reply

