Happy New Year

First, an update about relaxing.  I hope you’re not worrying about me being too busy on my vacation.  The past several days I’ve been dreaming A LOT.  That’s a sign for me that I’ve really been sleeping well.  And – I’ve been sleeping in –  ’til 8am or so.  It’s amazing.  I also haven’t been doing as many projects.  I’ve just been kind of aimlessly doing things.   For example, I happened to end up polishing 3 pairs of shoes yesterday.   It wasn’t this massive project or anything – just a random thing to do that I actually thought about doing when I had some time to do it.

I wish I could have been Kyle yesterday (or at least known exactly what was going through his mind so I could update the blog with his perspective). When he came home from work, I was watching a Netflix movie standing up in the middle of the room….yo-yo-ing.

So – I’m definitely relaxing.  And of course, I’m just getting into the rhythm of relaxation and then it’ll be time to go back to work.  Ah…such is life.

Anyway…

I wanted to say Happy New Year.  We just finished an AMAZING steak dinner.  We both agreed that it was the potatoes that really made the dinner.  Part of our Christmas gift from Kyle’s Uncle was a handful of homegrown potatoes.  They resembled little fingerling potatoes and I roasted them with garlic, salt, pepper, parsley, and olive oil.  MMMMmmmmmm.  They were SO good.  So – we had steak and mushrooms, roasted potatoes, and salad (Cesar for Kyle and Greek forAmy).  And of course – red wine.  What a way to bring in the new year.

I’ve been thinking a lot about New Year’s Resolutions lately, too.  One of my most successful resolutions one year was to take more pictures.  This year, I think Kyle and I both have health on the forefront of our minds and specifically desire to fit in regular workouts and eating healthy.  So we’ll see how that goes especially after that delicious steak dinner.  🙂  I’m also constantly seeking to be more green in the way that I live my life.  I usually only have coffee out if I’m using a gift card, so it’s not super frequently, but I still think I can be more green when I drink coffee out.  So – my newest idea for a resolution is to be intentional about requesting my Starbucks order “for here” if I know that I’m going to be sitting in the store (since they assume that you want a to-go cup) and to remember to bring my own insulated coffee mug to coffee shops if I know I’ll be taking my order to-go.

I definitely have a couple other resolutions in mind, but it’s tough to have too many things to work on all at once.  🙂  We are already hearing fireworks here in Seattle and it’s only 9pm our time.  I guess that means it’s the New Year for all our friends and family in the East Coast.  Welcome to 2010 – we’ll join you in 3 hours. 🙂

One thought on “Happy New Year

  1. Amy, I talked with a young friend from our church who is a Guidence counselor at a high school. She said you need to ask yourself some questions. I’m sure, knowing you, that you already have. One question is, is it the teaching that is stressful? or is it the special ed that stresses you? Another question is, is it the setting (the school)? If you know the answers to these questions, then that might help you make a decision about what you are doing for your vocation. You might feel better about teaching a regular class, or it might be better to look into another setting for working with special ed kids. As I stated, you probably have already been down these roads already, but I thought what she said made sense to me. I’m sure I didn’t remember all the points she made but these questions stayed with me. I don’t know all your responsibilities, but we did have to work with a special ed teacher when Tim was in school for one of his classes. They would write up a plan for him and we would have to review it with his teacher periodically. Just wanted you to know I’m thinking of you…
    Thanks for your great Christmas letter and picture of you and Kyle. July will be here before we know it!!!!
    Love,
    Aunt Lyn

Leave a Reply

