Packing

I (Amy) have always dreaded packing.  There’s something that feels so overwhelming to me about it.  I think it all boils down to the paradox of me striving to be both a minimalist and an overly prepared person.  That is, I try my best to bring the bare essentials, but what that ends up looking like for me is putting together the bare essentials…for each type of activity.

Kyle and I are leaving early Friday morning for our Thanksgiving trip.  (By the way – thanks to Kyle’s mom for being willing to drive us to airport before the 5 o’clock hour arrives!)   We’ll be spending all of Thanksgiving week with the Wing Family in MI and we are traveling by way of Chicago this weekend to celebrate the marriage of one of my college friends, as well as the upcoming arrival of 3 of my college friends’ babies.  Needless to say, we have a full week ahead.

That means I have a lot of activities to be packing for: a wedding, swimming in the hotel pool, a possible workout here and there, Thanksgiving dinner, hanging around the house, and doing things around town.  Besides the clothes, there’s all the other little details of bringing the camera (and the charger), bringing the ipod (and the cord to charge it), and picking out jewelry and other things like scarves to go with each outfit (but trying to choose accessories that would go with most outfits).

The other thing is that I’m one of those people who likes the leave the house as clean as possible so we can come back to an inviting home.  So, it’s not uncommon for me to change the sheets, do the laundry, and want the bathroom cleaned and the floor swept before we leave.

As much as I’m looking forward to our trip, I’ve just reached the extremely overwhelmed stage.  I’ve realized that after work tomorrow, we have to do all our packing (which for me implies making hard decisions about what to bring), and I’ll inevitably want to be getting the house looking spic and span as well.

I can’t wait until we get on that plane Friday morning because 1) it means we’re on vacation to reconnect with friends for the weekend and spend time with our family all next week and 2)the packing stage will be done!

 

2 thoughts on “Packing

  1. Wow, are we cut from the same cloth or what! I could have written this! Scary. Well, your dad is right. Your packing is done and you’re already into all the above mentioned activities. I have a problem packing for flying. But not so much when traveling by car ’cause I get to throw in the “what if’s”. Hope you and Kyle are enjoying your time away with friends and family. Happy Thanksgiving! Love & hugs, Aunt Lyn

Leave a Reply

