Summer for an introvert

It’s hard to find a dictionary definition of introvertedness that I agree with, but I did find this website that gives a more thorough description that I think does a good job of explaining introvertedness.  If you don’t have time to read the article, the main idea is that being an introvert means you get your energy from being by yourself.  (On the other hand, if you’re an extrovert, you get your energy from being with other people.)  So, it’s not necessarily about being shy or lacking social skills; it’s more about need alone time to rejuvenate.

Based on this definition, I’m an introvert through and through.  My exciting discovery this summer (since I’m not busy moving and getting married) is that the life and rhythm of a teacher is really good for my introvertedness.  I can picture some people going insane already with my lifestyle even though I’ve only had 1 1/2 days of no schedule.  But, I am loving the break from my chaotic and crowded school environment.

I’m a person who needs a lot of alone-time to think and reflect and contemplate.  This morning I’ve done that while taking a walk, making Flaxseed Muffins, doing dishes by filling up the sink, and doing laundry including the folding and ironing.  All of those things are really methodical and can be seen as tedious, but for me, they are energizing and rewarding.

Sometimes this personal characteristic makes me think I was built for simpler times and it makes me feel kind of old-fashioned.  But, the fun thing is that some of those “simple” and “rustic” ways of life are coming back and almost becoming trendy.  It’s that earthy kind of lifestyle that includes growing your own fruits and veggies, shopping with reusable bags, diapering with cloth diapers, making your own granola, and hanging your clothes out on the line that is becoming attractive to more people than just me.

I wonder how many of those other “earthy” people are introverts like me?  There’s just a great built-in chance to recharge when you are doing those methodical tasks.

Oh – by the way – we had our home-made pizza last night and I’m eating my leftovers for lunch right now.  Mine became more than just a Margherita Pizza.  I added onions, green peppers, mushrooms, artichokes, and black olives to the tomatoes, basil, and mozzarella.  Yumm…so good!  Kyle  had pepperoni, green peppers, mushrooms, and a few artichokes and he thought his was so good that he ate the whole thing for dinner.  No leftovers for Kyle. 😦  I had to send him to work with PB&J and an apple for lunch.

Leave a Reply

