2 new things

So, school is out for the summer.  Oddly enough, I had to go up to school yesterday and need to be back today, too.  (I’m a co-department head so there’s a lot of administrative things that happen during the summer that I need to be a part of.  I don’t mind being involved in those things right now since it’s so recent to school being in session!)

In any case, I’m really looking forward to the unscheduled nature of my summer vacation.  Already, on my 1st (partial) day off yesterday, I did two things I’d never done before.

1) I made my own vegetable cream cheese.  If you’re a person who doesn’t mind a savory flavor to your breakfasts, I’d highly recommend a bagel with veggie cream cheese.  You can certainly buy a pre-made version in the store, but I think it’s more fun and personal to make up a batch of your own with things you enjoy.  I put shredded carrots, radishes, diced scallions, a tiny bit of garlic, chopped fresh parsely (b/c I had some around), a tiny bit of salt and some freshly ground pepper, and a couple dashes of hot sauce in mine.  You simply soften some cream cheese long enough to be able to mix in all your veggies, and stick the final product back in the fridge in a container.  I had some on a bagel this morning and it was great.  So, it’s easy, and you can get creative with what you put in it.  (By the way, I got some of my ideas by looking at recipes online.  I didn’t actually follow any of them, but rather just determined amounts by what looked like a good ratio to me, so this isn’t something you can mess up if you try it!)

2) We acquired a couple of leeks from Kyle’s aunt (is that my aunt-in-law?) at our Father’s Day celebration on Sunday.  I have always heard of Potato Leek Soup, but had never made it, let alone eaten it.  🙂  So….I made some, and then we ate it for dinner. 🙂  The consensus was that it was good.  The only drawback was that it was a little thick, but that’s something that’s easily fixed.  I think I used too many potatoes, so when I blended up some of the soup and returned it to the pot, as the recipe called for, it made the soup look a bit like mashed potatoes.  But, the flavor was good.

So – here’s to unscheduled time and all kinds of new recipes to try.  Sometime this week we’re having Margherita Pizzas to use some of the fresh basil we were given recently.  If you have any recipes that call for fresh sage or fresh oregano, let me know!  I have those, too! 🙂

(And by the way – this is totally unrelated – but if you know someone who knows me and Kyle, but doesn’t have a link to our blog, please feel free to pass it along!)

One thought on “2 new things

  1. I also need some recipes for sage, also need some good uses for parsley. Have lots of herbs that I don’t know what to do with!

Leave a Reply

