Alderbrook

I (Amy) feel like I’ve been hanging on to a lot of blog topics for awhile.   The longer I’ve held on to them, the more I’ve put off posting.  As events have gone by and ideas for posts have built up, it makes posting seem more and more overwhelming.  I’m hoping this is a common syndrome of those new to blogging and that there’s hope for being more frequent (and satisfied) with simple, short updates.  For now, I’m going to attempt a quick synopsis of a couple of the things I’ve done in the past month or so.

In the middle of April, Jan, a co-worker of mine, invited me and another co-worker, Emily, and our spouses (of course) down to her cabin near the Hood Canal.  If you’re familiar with Washington, it’s near the Alderbrook Resort.  Here’s a photo of the three of us, so you can start to get a visual of who I’m talking about.  Jan is a Para Educator in our department and Emily is one of the Speech and Language Pathologists at our school that provides services and support to a lot of the students (and adults!) in our program.

Emily, me, and Jan

Emily, me, and Jan

We lucked out with such a GORGEOUS weekend, which made it seem like a vacation even though it was only a weekend long excursion.  On Saturday, our big plan was to go to the Walter Dacon Winery, which Jan and her husband Jim belong to.  They were having a bottling event which included wine tasting and food as well as a chance to watch the bottling process.  The rather inconvenient part of the experience is that they ran out of food while we were doing our wine tasting, so we thought we may not stay for long.  But then the owner decided to order pizza for all the guests who hadn’t eaten yet.  So…we lounged around in the sun sipping on wine while waiting the the pizzas to arrive.  Here’s us soaking up the sun:

Left to right: Kyle, Jan, Jim, Andrew, Emily, me

Left to right: Kyle, Jan, Jim, Andrew, Emily, me

Eventually the pizza arrived and we ate our fair share.  The funny part was that by the time we finished lunch, it was nearly 4:00…which was just when we thought we should start getting things ready for dinner!  As you can imagine, none of us were really ready for dinner, but we did get back to the house and manage to prepare an appetizer of mussels and clams.  (And yes – I had my no thank you bite of both a mussel AND a clam.)  And then…since we had stuffed ourselves further, we managed to fit in 2 holes of golf to kill some time.

For those of you who know me well, you might know that I have never played golf before besides the miniature version.  Jan and Jim, though, are golf fanatics.  They live on a golf course at home, and their cabin is also located on a golf course so at both places their backyard steps right out on to the green.  (Did I use that golf term correctly?)

So…we kind of snuck onto the course and played the 2 holes.  It was a REALLY relaxed game.  We played with partners.  Jim was mine.  🙂  I say this with a smile for 2 reasons: 1) Jim is really good at golf and 2) Jim seems to have a spiritual gift of encouragement.  No matter how awkward you feel holding a club and no matter how short your drive is, Jim can find something positive about your experience tee-ing off.  So…overall I’d say my first exposure to “real” golf was a success.  Kyle may be able to convince me to play again sometime.  We’ll see. 🙂

So…once we finally came in from our game, we stuffed some dinner into our already full tummies and then enjoyed sitting around the campire.  And…if you know me well, you won’t be surprised to find out that I managed to consume 2 s’mores! (with peanut butter)

It was a full day, but so fun!

The next morning after Jan prepared and we all devoured some yummy Dutch Babies for breakfast (which resembled Swedish Pancakes to me), we headed out for a drive.  They took us to a high steel bridge with the most amazing view.

The View!

The View!

Looking over the edge was a little nerve wracking!

We didn't want to get too close to the edge!

We didn't want to get too close to the edge!

The ladies swung by a little gift shop (equipped with a winery as well!) while the men went off to have a look at the Alderbrook Resort.  I ended up finding a bottle of wine from the Morgan Winery in California!!!  So cool!!!  The label has a picture of the Morgan Family Crest on it.  I think Kyle and I are going to save it for our anniversary.  🙂

After a brief jaunt at the resort for the ladies, we had a bite to eat at a local restaurant along with 100 or so motorcyclists that were out on a ride together.  It was a fascinating lunch to say the least.  The restaurant staff were so busy they brought me my fish sandwich on a bottom bun, gave me the stack of lettuce, tomato, and onion, but totally forgot the top of my bun! 🙂

Anywho…we had a wonderful trip to Jan and Jim’s cabin.  Kyle and I ended up taking the ferry back and enjoyed being out on the water on such a beatiful sun-shiney day.  Thanks Jan and Jim for being such wonderful hosts, and Andrew and Emily for being such fun company.

Our lovely hosts for the weekend: Jan and Jim

Our lovely hosts for the weekend: Jan and Jim

You made us smile (and squint into the sunlight!)

:)

🙂

Okay – so much for the quick synopis of recent events.  Just the one brought up so many memories and things to share.  Stay tuned for more updates from me soon!

2 thoughts on “Alderbrook

  1. How fun to find this new update today. I heard about the weekend but loved reading about the details. What a cool experience! I’m jealous.
    Love, Mom

  2. Great memories and friends. Our backyard walks out onto a ‘fairway.’ We need to get you out more so you can get the ‘lingo’ down. When you go again, you can say that you improved. Can’t say this unless you go…..

Leave a Reply

