Spring Break

I’m on Spring Break this week.  Last year at this time, I was only a few days in to wearing my engagement ring from Kyle and I was in Michigan planning the wedding.

Now, a  year later, oddly enough – I’m without my engagement ring.  We took my rings to the jewelry store on Sunday afternoon for their 6 month inspections and discovered that both rings had loose stones.  My wedding band could be fixed in-house, but wouldn’t be ready until Tuesday night, but my engagement ring had to be sent to the designer.  As it turns out, myengagement ring needs to be remade so I’ll be without it for 4 weeks.  (!)

It was really strange to be without my rings for a few days, but now I at least have my wedding band back.  I guess you could say it was perfect timing, though, because I wouldn’t have been wearing my rings for the past couple of days anyway.  Why, you ask?  Well….I’ve discovered a new hobby: yard work!

On the weekend, Kyle mowed the lawn for the first time of this season and I spent a few hours here and there pulling up some dandelions and other weeds.  One of my co-workers, Monica, has quite the green thumb and works weekends at a local nursery.  I invited her over on Monday morning to help me figure out what to do with the plants in our yard now that winter is (mostly) over and everything is budding.  She was able to identify a lot of the plants, but unfortantely I can’t remember ANY of their names!  She had a wealth of knowledge and great advice on how to maintain the life of our greenery.

Kyle has made two comments about my gardening:

1) “You’re well suited for weeding.”

2) “So, you just like killing things rather than planting them??”

Okay, so, I’ll admit….in my amateur state of yard-keeping, right now I’m mostly focused on the weeding.  I’ve done quite a bit of pruning, too, which I find equally therapeutic, but there’s something about weeding that I just find so live-giving.  It’s sounds like a paradox, but have you ever stopped to think about what weeding does?  It’s gets out the unwanted junk so that life can go straight to the plants, trees, flowers, and grass you DO want.  I’ve realized, too, that good weeding takes time.  You can’t just go in there and do a quick fix yanking things out all over the place.  If you really want to get to the root of those weeds, you need to dig in, and gently finagle them out.  It takes time and it’s exhausting, but it’s so well worth it.

I’m taking a little break from the yard today and doing laundry and other indoor tasks, but I just wanted to update you on my new love.

Also, a little teaser for you (and a gentle prodding for Kyle)…Kyle started at a new project this week.  I know he has lots to share about his last stint, and will most likely update you on what he’s starting right now.  So…stay tuned for Kyle’s first update.

4 thoughts on “Spring Break

  1. Ahhh pruning….There is no doubt that you are my daughter. Weeding,however, may mean you are Mom’s daughter. Sounds like fun. I’m so glad you discovered such a great hobby. I’m lookikng forward to Kyle’s update.

  2. Well, we are related! I share the therapeutic prunning. I’ve always loved it. I also do some weeding but probably not as carefully as one should. I love your analogy of weeding and it’s parodox. That is so true! I wish we lived closer so I could use your friend’s knowledge. Glad that you are enjoying your new found yard work and we are awaiting Kyle’s first update. Happy spring!
    Love & hugs,
    Aunt Lyn

  3. I love the new header for your blog… very green and alive!! If you ever want to weed at my house, you are MORE than welcome. Seriously, anytime!

Leave a Reply

